Guides by Subject
Access to The Wall Street Journal provides our campus with real-time financial and business news, in-depth market analysis, economic insights, industry trends, and career-relevant content, as well as award-winning journalism on national and international affairs. Access to this resource is made possible through a collaborative initiative between University Libraries, our College partners, and the University of Alabama Student Government Association (SGA).
Special thanks to our College partners for making this resource available:
Culverhouse College of Business
Barefield College of Arts & Sciences
Career Center, A Division of Student Life
Honors College
University Libraries
College Of Communication & Information Sciences
Office of Teaching Innovation and Digital Education (OTIDE)
College of Education
Resources compiled from archival collections across the world with diverse perspectives from grassroots organizations and under-represented groups, along with government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
Discover how the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society, through the lens of pioneer David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers.
Features selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers, provides a perspective on both everyday life and some of the key events of modern Chinese history.
Foundation Directory offers access to detailed profiles of thousands of foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant-making public charities. Users can search for potential funding sources by subject area, geographic focus, type of support, and recipient organization type. Foundation Directory is an essential tool for faculty, students, and staff seeking funding for research projects, academic programs, and institutional initiatives. Access to this resource is made possible through a collaborative initiative between University Libraries and our College partners.
Special thanks to our College partners for making this resource available:
University Libraries
Barefield College of Arts & Sciences
Capstone College of Nursing
College Of Communication & Information Sciences
College of Community Health Sciences
College of Education
College of Human Environmental Sciences
Culverhouse College of Business
Lee J. Styslinger Jr. College of Engineering
School of Social Work
Primary source material from the UK, USA and Australia featuring items such as prompt books, programmes, company records, photographs and playbills, users can explore the multi-faceted nature of the nineteenth-century theatre industry, the lives and careers of well-known actors and actresses and the production, performance and reception of popular plays of the time of the nineteenth century.
PRWeek epitomizes the modern business publishing brand, spanning online, print, events, and social media, incorporating a paid-for content strategy and gated website. Launched in November 1998, it is the essential title for PR professionals in the US.
PRWeek reflects an industry playing a more pivotal role than ever before, not only in the marketing strategies of companies, brands, and organizations, but also within boardrooms and amongst the C-suite.
In the transparent world epitomized by social media, corporate reputation is crucial. Executives need timely, authoritative, insightful content to navigate this landscape - that's where PRWeek comes in.
SciteAI is a research tool that helps researchers better discover and evaluate scientific literature through Smart Citations, a revolutionary system that shows whether articles support, contrast, or simply mention a given claim.
University Libraries is conducting a 1-year pilot subscription to Scite AI to assess the benefits and features of the product. Pilot access to the Scite AI product is available through September 2026.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
University Libraries is conducting a 1-year pilot subscription to Scopus AI to assess the benefits and features of the product. Pilot access to the Scopus AI product is available through December 2026.
Access to The Wall Street Journal provides our campus with real-time financial and business news, in-depth market analysis, economic insights, industry trends, and career-relevant content, as well as award-winning journalism on national and international affairs. Access to this resource is made possible through a collaborative initiative between University Libraries, our College partners, and the University of Alabama Student Government Association (SGA).
Special thanks to our College partners for making this resource available:
Culverhouse College of Business
Barefield College of Arts & Sciences
Career Center, A Division of Student Life
Honors College
University Libraries
College Of Communication & Information Sciences
Office of Teaching Innovation and Digital Education (OTIDE)
College of Education
Quick Links
-
ScoutScout is our online catalog. It's a great place to start your research because it searches most of our collection.
-
Ask a LibrarianNeed some help? Use Ask a Librarian to chat online with a librarian or browse the FAQs.
-
How do I...Tips & tutorials on the ways that UA Libraries can help make your time at UA a success. How to find articles and books, where to get help, and more!