Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980


The collection includes British Foreign Office files on China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan from 1919 to 1980, containing diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, reports, and more. These previously restricted documents offer detailed insights into a significant period in Chinese history.

More Information

The six parts of this collection is:

  • 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
  • 1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
  • 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
  • 1949-1956: The Communist revolution
  • 1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
  • 1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution