Borrowing Rules
What kind of materials can be requested?
Books, dissertations and theses, monographs, newspapers, materials reproduced on microfilm, and older volumes of periodicals can usually be borrowed. Photocopies of journal articles or of short sections of books can generally be obtained. For questions about other types of items, check the policies or contact the Interlibrary Loan Department.
How long can I keep the books I borrow?
Books from UA's collection have the same loan period that on-campus users receive. The length of the loan depends on your status (undergraduate, graduate) and the type of material being loaned. Non-circulating materials, such as reference books, cannot be borrowed by distance learning students.
Books from other institutions will generally have a loan period between 2-4 weeks. Interlibrary loan materials are subject to recall by the lending library at any time. In the event this should happen, please return recalled items immediately.
Can I renew my books?
You can renew books from UA's collection by using the Libraries' Catalog or contacting the Circulation Department.
To renew books from other institutions, you must request a renewal through the Interlibrary Loan Office at least one week before the due date by telephone, e-mail, or in person. If a renewal is possible, you will be contacted by phone or e-mail and informed of the new due date. If the ILL band is marked "Not Renewable," the lending library has already indicated a renewal is not possible.
Locating Print & E-books
There are multiple options to locate print & e-books relevant for your research.
- Scout: Discovery service--not database--that includes print books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.
- Sample keyword search: ethnography
- Library Catalog: Best for known items at UA Libraries
- Sample keyword search: ethnography
- E-book Databases: UA Libraries subscribes to multiple databases that contain ebooks. Searching may vary depending on search interface. Ask V for assistance.
Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by
In this companion volume to John van Maanen's Tales of the Field, three scholars reveal how the ethnographer turns direct experience and observation into written fieldnotes upon which an ethnography is based.
Call Number: GN307.7 .E44 1995ISBN: 0226206815Publication Date: 1995-08-15
Writing Ethnography by
The Teaching Writing seriespublishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Whileethnographers inevitably write up their findings from the field, manyethnography textbooks focus more on the 'ethno' portion of our craft, and lesson developing our 'graph' skills. Gullion fills that gap, helping ethnographerswrite compelling, authentic stories about their fieldwork. From putting thefirst few words on the page, to developing a plot line, to publishing, WritingEthnography offers guidance for all stages of the writing process. Writingprompts throughout the book encourage the development of manuscripts from startto finish. Appropriate for both new and emerging scholars, Writing Ethnographyis a useful text for qualitative methods, research methods courses acrossdisciplines. "This is a must read for anyone whois learning about ethnography and is unsure about how to start writing." -Kakali Bhattacharya, PhD, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership, KansasState University "I love this writer because shedoes her homework, cares about her readers, and writes a damn good story. Buythis book immediately." - Anne Harris, PhD, Senior Lecturer of Education,Monash University and author of Critical Plays: Embodied Research for SocialChange and The Creative Turn: Toward a New Aesthetic Imaginary "In this foundational text, Gullionaccomplishes the herculean task of talking about the overlooked process ofethnographic writing with an intimate tone. It is like we are seated at herdesk writing along with her. This text will be required reading in my researchmethods courses and for my graduate students because of the meticulousbreakdown of writing practice that creates a text that is both useful andengaging." - Sandra Faulkner, PhD, Associate Professor of Communication,Bowling Green State University and author of Family Stories, Poetry, andWomen's Work and Poetry as Method: Reporting Research Through Verse Jessica Smartt Gullion, PhD, isAssistant Professor of Sociology and Affiliate Faculty of Women's Studies atTexas Woman's University. She has published more than thirty peer-reviewedjournal articles and book chapters, in journals such as Qualitative Inquiry,the International Review of Qualitative Research, and the Journal of AppliedSocial Science. She has also written two additional books, Fracking theNeighborhood: Reluctant Activists and Natural Gas Drilling with the MIT Pressand October Birds: A Novel about Pandemic Influenza, Infection Control, andFirst Responders, which is part of the award-winning Social Fictions Serieswith Sense Publishers.
Call Number: Ebook; Click on title to access.ISBN: 9789463003810Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Culture and Truth by
Exposing the inadequacies of old conceptions of static cultures and detached observers, the book argues instead for social science to acknowledge and celebrate diversity, narrative, emotion, and subjectivity.
Call Number: Ebook; Click on title to access.ISBN: 080704623XPublication Date: 1993-08-01
Locating Theoretical Readings
Like any other research, searching for theoretical readings can be an exhausting rabbit without flexible parameters. If you are not seeking a particular title or author, use the subject and/or abstract limiters in your search query.
Examples:
- Subject: education, research & methodology
- Abstract: theoretical framework
Reminder: If UA Libraries doesn't have the book, use ILLiad to request it from another library.
Foundations of Education Research by
The theoretical components of research are some of the most complicated and challenging aspects for new researchers to understand. While relevant methodologies are routinely covered by textbooks, the theory behind the practice can remain unnecessarily opaque. In six concise chapters Foundations of Education Research defines, discusses, and provides applications for the central components of research in order to provide researchers with a common ground from which to work. Including conceptual framework, epistemology, paradigm, theory, theoretical framework, and methodology/method, this book gives students the tools they need to understand existing education research literature and to produce theoretically-grounded work of their own. Beginning each chapter with perspectives from both novice and experienced researchers, this book is designed to help students achieve a deeper understanding of what is expected of them and ideas about how to achieve it. Guiding questions from both perspectives can assist researchers who are engaging with theory for the first time and those looking to improve their understanding of the fundamentals. Practice exercises and suggested reading lists at the end of each chapter offer students resources they can apply to their own research and thinking in concrete ways. A perfect accompaniment to standard research courses, this primer demystifies the jargon of education research in practical terms.
Call Number: LB1028 .E268 2014ISBN: 9780415715799Publication Date: 2013
Theoretical Frameworks for Research in Chemistry/Science Education by
Part of the Prentice Hall Series in Educational Innovation, this concise new volume is the first book devoted entirely to describing and critiquing the various theoretical frameworks used in chemistry education/science education research – with explicit examples of related studies. Provides a broad spectrum of theoretical perspectives upon which readers can base educational research. Includes an extensive list of relevant references. Presents a consistent framework for each subject area/chapter. A useful guide for practicing chemists, chemistry instructors, and chemistry educators for learning how to do basic educational research within the context of their own instructional laboratories and classrooms.
Call Number: QD40 .B665 2007ISBN: 9780132410366Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Identity Development of College Students by
This book describes contemporary perspectives on the identity development of college students in the U.S. with an emphasis on multiple social identities. The book traces the evolution of the study of identity in relation to contemporary research and theoretical frameworks. These contemporary perspectives are situated within a holistic description of identity that portrays identity as the intersection of context, personal characteristics, and social identities. It explores the nature of context, including inequitable power structures, and how context influences and is influenced by multiple social identities. The authors use research on multiple identities as a springboard, including using critical theoretical frameworks to analyze these relationships, such as intersectionality, critical race theory, and queer theory.
Call Number: LC191.9 .J66 2013ISBN: 9780470947197Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Student Development in College by
The third edition of Student Development in College presents practitioners, scholars, and graduate students with the most recent information pertaining to student development theory, research, and its application to practice. Considered the key resource for those most committed to conscious and intentional student affairs practice, this updated third edition offers several new features: A condensed version of student development history, which now draws connections between student learning and student development and expands on theoretical worldviews and paradigms that have been used to guide the development and construction of theory. It also introduces an integrative framework to help readers view theory and student development in a more holistic, integrated, and complex way. Social identities take a central focus and include the addition of three new chapters focusing on social class; disability; and emerging theoretical perspectives that highlight generational and age identity, national identity, and digital identity. The chapter focusing on faith and spirituality includes information on religious, atheist, and agnostic identities. The chapter on gender is also updated with the latest research on men and masculinities. Part Three offers a combined emphasis on psychosocial and cognitive-structural theories, with some information being condensed and revised to allow self-authorship to be used as an anchoring theory to present a more integrated approach to viewing identity as a meaning-making process that involves both psychosocial and cognitive processes. Part Four introduces new strategies for student affairs practitioners to engage in difficult dialogues about theories, teaching theory, and the importance of being reflective educators and consumers of theory. New vignettes of key characters' storylines are woven throughout the chapters, allowing readers to witness the developmental trajectories of the characters as they move from chapter to chapter. Each chapter concludes with a set of discussion and reflection questions for readers to consider. A supplemental downloadable instruction guide connects information from the book with sound teaching strategies and ideas that can be implemented to enhance learning environments.
Call Number: LB2343.4 .P38 2016ISBN: 9781118821817Publication Date: 2016-02-29
A Practical Introduction to Qualitative Research by
This title provides a one-stop resource for all those approaching qualitative research for the first time, as well as those revisiting core concepts and issues. It presents a comprehensive overview of this developing field of inquiry, combined with practical, hands-on advice on how to conduct a successful qualitative study.
Call Number: LB1028 .S229 2013ISBN: 9780415674799Publication Date: 2012-12-26
