Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. Includes access to Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Sabin Americana, 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and The Times Digital Archive. Included in these collections are monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and more.
19th Century UK Periodicals is a multi-part series that covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th Century world. Subscription is only to Series 2 which covers the role Britain played beyond its own borders as an imperial power. It charts a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building. Sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Australia, the collection contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa.
Keesing's World News Archive contains the full archive of articles from Keesing's Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and Keesing's Record of World Events (1987-present) with new articles added monthly. Events covered include elections and changes of government, wars, terrorism, legislation, natural disasters and more.
Krokodil,a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union/Russia from 1922 until 2008, ridiculed bureaucracy, religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, and more. This complete archive features full-image, text-searchable files.
FBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century. Collections include:
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction
Propaganda and the Chinese Press
Pravda Archive, 1959-1996
The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991
World Protest and Reform Movements
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. Subject access to this collection is provided by the British Library’s online English Short Title Catalogue.
The Shen Bao Digital Archive presents the complete collection of all issues, from the newspaper’s founding in 1872 to 1949. The Shen Bao newspaper was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. Founded by Englishman Ernest Major as a newspaper for Chinese people, written by Chinese reporters, it gradually shifted from a conservative perspective to a liberal one, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the Imperial Period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. The full-image, full-test Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao.
A component of the database America’s Historical Newspapers, this collection documents more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history. The material is mostly in English, with some in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.
South Asian Newspapers includes 19th and 20th-century titles from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The collection is a component of the World Newspaper Archive database, which also includes cross-searchable collections from the United States, Latin America, and Africa.
World Newspaper Archive is a fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It comprises four separate, but cross-searchable, components: America’s Historical Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers, African Newspapers, and South Asian Newspapers.
Papers Past contains more than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand
Scottish Broadsides: "The most popular form of this for nearly 300 years was 'broadsides' - the tabloids of their day. Sometimes pinned up on walls in houses and ale-houses, these single sheets carried public notices, news, speeches and songs that could be read (or sung) aloud."
The collection of digital images represents a portion of the Lewis Walpole Library’s collections of eighteenth-century British prints, drawings, ephemera, and material related to the world in which Horace Walpole lived.
This database "consists of 143 titles which comprise 500.000 pages representing a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933.