U.S. Government Documents
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A database of information published by and about the United States Congress. Provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.
- HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which began in 1861 under President Abraham Lincoln, contains books and documents from various Presidential libraries as well as different governmental agencies.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints. Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications.
- CIA Declassified Documents DatabaseRead declassified CIA materials, including files on clandestine operations!
- National Security ArchiveA collection of declassified reports about American foreign relations and diplomatic history.
- FBI Electronic Reading RoomDeclassified FBI files on famous people in America, including MLK, Bobby Kennedy, Desi Arnaz.
International Government Documents
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
- State Papers Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online is a collection of historical materials on early modern Britain & Europe across a wide range of government concerns. It includes correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, and provincial administrators from 1509-1782.
- Cold War International History Project"Cold War letters, treaties, dispatches and other primary sources, including documents relating to international crises, the roles of specific countries or areas, communist activities, notebooks of famous Russian leaders, as well as intelligence and military operations
- Parallel History Project on Cooperative SecurityDeclassified documents from the Warsaw Pact and NATO about war plans from both sides, crises, foreign affairs of China and India, roles of specific countries like Poland or Hungary within these alliances, intelligence, and more.
- Avalon Projecttreaties, charters, constitutions, and other documents from ancient times to the present.
Personal Texts
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowThe American Civil War: Letters and Diaries brings together original source material in diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide many points of view on almost every aspect of the war.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries offers a large collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970's. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Presidential Papers
- The American Presidency ProjectA searchable database containing a large collection of presidential papers/documents.
We have many print collections of Presidential Papers in Gorgas Library. Just go to Scout or The Classic Catalog and do an author search (you'll need to use the drop-down menu by the search bar to change to author) for the president you're looking for (for example: "Reagan, Ronald"). This is a good way to find memoirs also!
Oral Histories
- Southern Oral History Programmore than 5,000 interviews with people from all walks of life—from mill workers to civil rights leaders to future presidents of the United States.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970's. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Images
- Digital Public Library of America"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world."
- Smithsonian Digital CollectionsA collection of sources from the Smithsonian.
- Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters and Ephemera This link opens in a new windowThis online collection presents the imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, political, and military perspectives.
Streaming Video
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The TVNA collection holds individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks - ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN - and hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
