Getting Started with Research in Databases
When doing research in the discipline of religious studies, your best best is to start with ATLA. JSTOR and Project Muse are both broad-based humanities databases that will provide additional support. Also, since the Department of Religious Studies looks at Religion in Culture, you could also potentially find relevant results in anthropology and sociology databases.
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Databases - Deeper Cuts
These databases are more in-depth, advanced, or specialized, but they have invaluable information.
- Index Religiosus This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records for books, articles, and book reviews covering theology, church history and religious studies. It is updated annually with including both newer and older material.
- Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for a large number of premier journals. Cover-to-cover indexing includes scholarly materials, essays and reviews, original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.