Journal Metrics
Use one of these tools to compare citation rankings of journals:
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Research on Scholarly Publishing
Browse articles in these journals to learn more about the scholarly publishing industry and the options for publication.
- Journal of Scholarly Publishing
The Journal of Scholarly Publishing targets the unique issues facing the scholarly publishing industry today. It is the indispensable resource for academics and publishers that addresses the new challenges resulting from changes in technology, funding and innovations in publishing. In serving the wide-ranging interests of the international academic publishing community, JSP provides a balanced look at the issues and concerns, from solutions to everyday publishing problems to commentary on the philosophical questions at large. - Learned Publishing
Learned Publishing publishes peer reviewed research, reviews, industry updates and opinions on all aspects of scholarly communication and publishing. Written by and published for everyone involved with scholarly and professional communications, our readership includes publishers, vendors, librarians, academics and researchers from around the world.
Choosing a Journal
Use one of these databases to search for and compare journal outlets for your articles:
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Cabell's offers publishing data on journals to help users looking to publish their work. Information includes contact details and websites of journals for reference. Links to guidelines and submission info, Journalytics, and Predatory Reports are provided.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the journals and series on the MLA bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. The entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Provides statistics on number of articles and book reviews published and submitted each year.
- Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
Investigate these questions when selecting a journal:
- Is this a journal you have cited?
- Have scholars you admire published there?
- What is the review process?
- Do the editors and editorial board members have strong reputations in your field?
- What are the copyright and open access policies of the journal? Can you make your article publicly available on your own or your institution's website?
- Are there publication fees?
Automated Journal Selection
Use one of these tools to match words from your title and abstract to topically appropriate journals:
- The EndNote Match tool from Web of Science
- JournalGuide
Choosing a Book Publisher
- Look at university presses. Check out the topic coverage outlined by the Association of University Presses.
- Who published the academic books on your bookshelf?
- Search the library catalog for keywords related to your topic. Who publishes books on these topics?