Research Guides: HY 430: History of Literacy (Dr. Di Luo): Secondary Sources: Books, Journal Articles, Encyclopedias, etc.

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources are secondhand sources. They were created by historians who drew their information from primary sources. Secondary sources include scholarly journal articles, books, and credible web sites.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses can be used as secondary sources and in some cases it may be easier to find a dissertation or thesis that addresses your specific topic.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
- Arts
- Business & Economics
- Education
- Humanities
- Social Sciences
- Behavioral Sciences
- Natural Sciences
- Mathematics & Physical Sciences
- Health & Medical Sciences
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
The American National Biography Online provides information about prominent people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. It contains detailed articles, internal cross-references, bibliographies, photographs and illustrations, and links to external web resources.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Database of biographies of men and women who have shaped British history.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Reference Online Premium collection contains reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others. Includes the popular “Oxford Companion” series.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbooks in this online edition provide topic overviews and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship for a wide range of topics. Subject areas include Architecture, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

HY 430: History of Literacy (Dr. Di Luo)

Secondary Sources

Dissertations & Theses

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Get in touch

Hours & information

Socialize with us