Research and Instructional Services Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials related to LACLS.
If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Information Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video is a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, both in and about Spanish language, literature, and culture. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
- ScoutScout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work, electronic collections, images, streaming media, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowImages of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new windowBooks on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowWeb-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
- Informe This link opens in a new windowInforme is a full-text collection of mostly Spanish-language (some English) magazines relating to Hispanic culture. Included is information on business, health, technology, arts, and current issues.
How can we help?
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: