Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Archives Unbound provides collections of historical primary documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Collections included:

The Shakespeare Collection
City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Mississippi, 1860-1929; North Carolina, 1886-1929; Tennessee, 1849-1929; Virginia, 1801-1929
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918

Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. Includes access to Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Sabin Americana, 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and The Times Digital Archive. Included in these collections are monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and more.

A component of the database America’s Historical Newspapers, this collection documents more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history. The material is mostly in English, with some in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and Bermuda.

Access requires on-campus authentication.

FBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century. Collections include:

Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction
Propaganda and the Chinese Press
Pravda Archive, 1959-1996
The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991
World Protest and Reform Movements

Access requires on-campus authentication.

Informe is a full-text collection of mostly Spanish-language (some English) magazines relating to Hispanic culture. Included is information on business, health, technology, arts, and current issues.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Diverse collection of Latin American newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Access requires on-campus authentication.

Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience, with news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with archives; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.

This collection of pamphlets from the personal library of Brazilian diplomat, historian, and journalist Manoel de Oliveira Lima covers a wide range of topics: colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature. The works are primarily in Portuguese.