Librarian
Welcome to the Course Guide for MUS 323: Music History III
This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, scores, recordings, and digital content related to your research topic. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or if there is anything I can do to help!
Popular Databases
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Patrons can cross-search products for full text articles, browse by subject, and link to images, digital sound, and related sites.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRepertoire International de Litterature Musicale Abstracts provides citations and abstracts of articles in music periodicals, conference proceedings, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, and iconographies. Thousands of journals in hundreds of languages are indexed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of classical music available for streaming online; also includes selections from historical recordings, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music. Contains the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs as well as recordings from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, BIS (Sweden), and Analekta. Updated monthly.
- Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess to length Met performances, including H.D. videos from the Met’s Live in H.D. series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent H.D. videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish.
Whisper Booths
The U.A. Libraries can help you create audio projects, such as voiceovers and simple keyboard and acoustic instrumental recordings. Two booths are available by reservation. Schedule a booth using the link below.
How can we help?
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: