Historic Newspapers
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
-
Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
-
America's News This link opens in a new window
This collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources offers print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Included are news sources from various Alabama counties.
-
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersA range of newspapers published in mid-late 1800s and early 1900s.
-
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)"The International Coalition on Newspapers is a project to improve access to and preservation of world newspapers. It includes a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more than 25,000 newspaper titles from participating institutions. It also includes lists of digitized U.S. and international newspaper titles, many of which are freely accessible online."
European Newspapers
-
British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers, sourced from the British Library, offers a unique perspective on historical events from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. It provides a unique perspective on regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars.
-
Financial Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016, is a complete facsimile run of the authoritative daily business newspaper.
-
Times Digital Archive, The (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Covers all news printed by The Times newspaper between 1785 and 1985. Includes everything from top news stories to editorials, obituaries, sports, and advertisements, excluding Sunday editions.
-
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003, The (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Full facsimile run of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. Presents a vivid picture of British and world events — including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science — with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria’s fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace. Includes full color imaging of every page.
-
Economist Historical Archive, The (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2014. Covering the 19th and 20th centuries, it includes full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the ability to browse every issue.
Food Studies Online
-
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online includes works covering how food shapes and defines people's lives through the eyes of philosophers, historians, scientists, sociologists, artists, anthropologists, activists, physicists, psychologists, chefs, and many other important researchers.
Primary Source Databases
-
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
The digital archive of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. It covers the major themes of the period from colonisation and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II.
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A database of information published by and about the United States Congress. Provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.
Primary Source Websites
-
Culinary Insitute of America: Food History Digital Primary SourcesThis guide from the Conrad N. Hilton Library inludes an extensive list of freely accessible digital collections about food history.
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaContains images, letters, diaries, and other primary sources.
-
National ArchivesDigitized collections from the National Archives in Washington, D.C.
-
Documenting the American SouthA collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. The Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors DAS, and the texts come primarily from its Southern holdings.