It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Art History : Newspapers & Primary Sources
The Art and Art History Collections are located on the 3rd floor of Gorgas. While this guide provides information related to searching our collections online, you should take some time to browse the shelves!
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Alabama, African American, Ethnic and Military, Government & Defense news sources.
Access requires on-campus authentication.
Looking for more newspaper databases or digital collections of primary sources?
The libraries' A-Z Database list is an excellent resource for identifying appropriate databases for your research. Select "Newspapers" or "Primary Sources" from the dropdown menu under All Database Types.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)The Alabama Virtual Library, primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal and newspaper articles for research, provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources.
America and World War I: American Military Camp NewspapersPart of Accessible Archives, this collection addresses America in the World War I Era. Camp newspapers make important original source material—much of it written by soldiers for soldiers. It provides users with access to sources covering the experiences of American soldiers during the mobilization period in 1916, in the trenches in 1918 and through the occupation of Germany in 1919.
American Indian Histories and CulturesMaterial from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection contains early contacts between Europeans and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life. It covers the period from early western frontier right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.
American MemoryGateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
Archives of Sexuality and GenderThe Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Archives UnboundArchives Unbound provides collections of historical primary documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Collections included:
The Shakespeare Collection
City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Mississippi, 1860-1929; North Carolina, 1886-1929; Tennessee, 1849-1929; Virginia, 1801-1929
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical CollectionA digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, politics, and culture from colonial times to the 20th century. Series 1 and 2 contain advertisements, books, broadsides, essays, newspapers, pamphlets, short stories and more.
ARTstorARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Documenting the American SouthA collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
History VaultHistory Vault is a collection of primary source material pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era. This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in five subject categories: 1) Black Freedom Struggle; 2) NAACP Papers; 3) Slavery and the Law; 4) Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; and 5) Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975.
Human Rights Studies OnlineHuman Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to PresentThis collection of primary resources documents international women’s social movements from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. Included are conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organization; and letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Full-text of published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. It includes The History of Woman Suffrage; proceedings of the national conventions of female Anti-Slavery societies in the 1830s; proceedings of women’s rights conventions in the 1850s and 1860s; annual reports of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union; and local and national histories of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs.