Market and Consumer Behavior
- Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Simmons Insights, formerly Simmons OneView, contains data from the National Consumer study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits. Use to create customized reports of the data. The most recent data available is two years old.
Simmons Insights video tutorials
Click here to view a brief (approx. 5 minute) video tutorial on Simmons Insights.
Click here for an extended (approx. 30 min.) video tutorial on Simmons Insights.
(8 min:46 sec): Defining Audience | Psychographics |Media Studies
Be sure to click on the question ? mark ---with the circle around it--- in the top right on Simmons Insights to reveal more resources such as guides, videos, etc.
Tapestry Segementation
- Tapestry Segementationposter from ESRI - illustrates tapestry segmentation
Market Segmentation
Market Segmentation
Demographic Psychographic
| Age | Lifestyle |
| Education | Beliefs |
| Income | Priorities |
| Sex | Attitudes |
| Region | Aspirations |
| etc. | etc. |
Market and Consumer Behavior - cont.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as SimplyMap, a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing variables. Custom information can be exported to Excel, PDF, Microsoft Word and more.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
- Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) offers market research and industry news for the sporting goods and sports marketing industries.
- American Time Use SurveyThe American Time Use Survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Detailed research reports aggregated from research and consulting services. With global coverage the major categories include consumer goods, food & beverage, heavy industry, services, public sector, life sciences, technology and marketing.
- eMarketerResearch reports for marketing in a digital world.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a comprehensive system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers, with statistics covering historical and forecasted data. Includes lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles and market shares. Features historic and forecast statistics from 1977-2016, 5-year historic market size data, plus 5-year forecasts.
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online includes works covering how food shapes and defines people's lives through the eyes of philosophers, historians, scientists, sociologists, artists, anthropologists, activists, physicists, psychologists, chefs, and many other important researchers.
- Vivvix This link opens in a new window
Provides advertising expenditure data across 18 media types, including magazines, newspapers, radio, cable and network television and internet. Functionality allows users to monitor advertising expenditure by brand.
- American Consumer Culture, 1935-1965: Market Research and American Business This link opens in a new windowProviding a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century, this collection includes the complete market research reports from Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.
