Research Guides: COM 300: Human Communication Research: Articles & Databases

Areas of Communication Research

For information on areas of research in the field of communication, check out the National Communication Association's page, "What is Communication:" https://www.natcom.org/about-nca/what-communication.

Communication Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.

Statistical Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal to the world of data and facts from thousands of sources onto a single platform. Categorized into subject sectors, Statista provides patrons with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistical data can be downloaded directly into PowerPoint, Excel, and JPG formats.
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. It is divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in .xls or .pdf format.

Research Methodology

SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research tool created to help users design and conduct research projects by linking case studies, videos, book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. It can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, behavioral sciences and more.

Journals

What's the difference between a database and a journal? A database is a collection of journals, so when you're searching a database you're going through a large amount of articles from various journals. Journals are focused on specific topics or approaches to subjects.The journals listed here are leading titles in the area of Communications.

Searching in Multiple Journals

Communication Currents

For information about current trends in the field, you can check out Communication Currents, an accessible publication from the National Communication Association that presents academic trends for a broad audience.

COM 300: Human Communication Research