Areas of Communication Research
For information on areas of research in the field of communication, check out the National Communication Association's page, "What is Communication:" https://www.natcom.org/about-nca/what-communication.
Communication Databases
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
- Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, magazines, newsletters, and videos covering various aspects of the communications
Statistical Data
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal to the world of data and facts, categorized by subjects, and provides quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new window
A collection of public opinion poll data with results (1935 - present). Contains questions and datasets from U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover topics such as social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, etc. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs & full datasets are provided for download.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A compilation of social, political and economic statistics, focused on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Divided into sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices, etc. Tables identify source of data and can be downloaded in .xls or .pdf format.
Research Methodology
- SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is an online research tool created to help students and researchers across the social and behavioral sciences to design research projects, understand methods or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.
Journals
What's the difference between a database and a journal? A database is a collection of journals, so when you're searching a database you're going through a large amount of articles from various journals. Journals are focused on specific topics or approaches to subjects.The journals listed here are leading titles in the area of Communications.
Searching in Multiple Journals
Communication Currents
For information about current trends in the field, you can check out Communication Currents, an accessible publication from the National Communication Association that presents academic trends for a broad audience.