Think Tanks
What is a Think Tank?
The term "think tank" refers to various nonprofit research organizations that produce public policy research and analysis, and often engage in advocacy as well. Some think tanks are nonpartisan, while others are affiliated with a political party or ideology. It’s important to understand and critically assess the perspective of the think tank whose reports you are using, so that you can provide appropriate context for your audience.
Using Information From Think Tanks
-
Writing About Think Tanks and Using Their Research: A Cautionary Tip SheetThis tip sheet from The Jouranlist's Resource aims to help journalists ask critical questions before citing a think tank’s research or experts.
Databases at UA that Include Think Tank Research Reports
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A database of information published by and about the United States Congress. Provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Open Think Tank Directory
-
Open Think Tank DirectoryThe Open Think Tank directory aims to pull together key information about policy organisations into one place. Today, it features public information for more than 3,600 organisations worldwide. The directory supports sector transparency and information accessibility.
Examples of Nonpartisan Think Tanks
-
The Brookings InstituteFrom their website:
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level." -
Freedom HouseFrom their website:
"Freedom House produces research and reports on a number of core thematic issues related to democracy, political rights and civil liberties. Our research and analysis frame the policy debate in the United States and abroad on the progress and decline of freedom. Freedom House's flagship publication Freedom in the World is the standard-setting comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. Freedom House also produces several annual reports, including Freedom on the Net, Nations in Transit, Freedom and the Media, the China Media Bulletin, and several Special Reports." -
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)From their website:
"SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public." -
Pew Research CenterFrom their website:
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions." -
The Council on Foreign RelationsFrom their website:
"The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Founded in 1921, CFR takes no institutional positions on matters of policy."