Scholarly Journal Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues provides a comprehensive global perspective on key global issues, including Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, and Extreme Weather, integrating news, primary source documents, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a research database that explores the connections between humans and the environment, covering topics like global warming, recycling, and alternative fuel sources. It includes scholarly articles, government documents, and reports.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text scholarly articles in a range of subject areas, including Political Sciences, International Relations, Military Studies, Peace & Conflict Studies, and Public Policy & Administration.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Index (PAI) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This sociology research database features records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Contains full text journals, books, monographs, and conference papers.
Dissertations and Thesis
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, featuring current research from the University of Alabama with citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses. Full text can be downloaded by authorized University of Alabama users.
Government Resources
- Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics, including agriculture, the environment, foreign relations, military expenditures and conflicts, as well as the workings of the U.S. government.
- CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce and politics.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowFBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints. Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A database of information published by and about the United States Congress. Provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.