Finding Local Newspapers - Online Access
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersA range of newspapers published in late 1800s and early 1900s.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from 18th and 19th Century periodicals. Included in the collection is Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War: A Soldier's Perspective, African American newspapers, American county histories and various other newspapers, gazettes and collections.
- Google News ArchiveGoogle News Archive is an extension of Google News that provides free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 1700s
When Newspapers Aren't Digital
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowUse WorldCat to do a title search for the local newspaper that you are looking for and request that title through Interlibrary Loan. You will probably receive it via microfilm.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: