Research Guides: EN 103 and EN 455 (Gardiner): Government Documents

Military Records

Fold3 This link opens in a new window
This genealogical database contains personal records, photographs and historic documents. It also includes collections of census materials, military records from the American Revolution, Civil War, World War II and Vietnam, African American and Native American archives, naturalization records and more.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. It includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

American Memory This link opens in a new window
Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.

By Popular Demand: Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, 1860s-1960s
Farm Security Administration / Office of War Information Photograph Collection
This unparalleled photographic record of American life between 1935 and 1942, a project of the Farm Security Administration (FSA), is the best known and most heavily used collection in the Prints and Photographs Division. It consists of over 270,000 photographs that document rural conditions, life in urban communities, and the domestic side of the war effort, taken by a gifted team of photographers, headed by Roy E. Stryker, that included Carl Mydans, Walker Evans, Ben Shahn, Dorothea Lange, Arthur Rothstein, Russell Lee, and Jack Delano. Their experience with new forms and techniques, in Stryker's opinion, did "for professional photography what the WPA Theatre was doing for the stage." In the past decade over a dozen major books based on the FSA collection have been published, along with a microfiche edition of selected photographs.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
Records of the Works Progress Administration - National Archives
Works Progress Administration- American Memory

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.

Activities of Works Progress Administration
Summary of testimony by works progress administrator Harry L. Hopkins before the subcommittee of the House Committee on Appropriations in charge of deficiency appropriations, Wednesday, April 8, 1936.