Coordinator of Library Instruction
Research & Instructional Services Librarian
Room 1024
711 Capstone Dr
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
Assessment Librarian
The University of Alabama
Box 870266
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
Class Session Resources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues provides a comprehensive global perspective on key global issues, including Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, and Extreme Weather, integrating news, primary source documents, and more.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Getting Started with your Research
Below are some great resources for getting started with your research, including a few published and crowd-sourced encyclopedias.
- Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues provides a comprehensive global perspective on key global issues, including Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, and Extreme Weather, integrating news, primary source documents, and more.
- Britannica Academic Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic contains both the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well as magazine and journal articles written by Pulitzer Prize winners and leading experts, a world atlas, country data, and timelines. This resource is freely available to all residents of the State of Alabama. Please contact the AVL helpdesk for any assistance.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal to the world of data and facts, categorized by subjects, and provides quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- WikipediaCrowdsourced, free encyclopedia, great for getting started with research. Take a look at sources cited in different entries for possible sources for your project.
- TED TalksSearch by keyword or topic. Take a look at talks across the TED platform.
- Visual CapitalistVisual Capitalist is a for profit entity that synthesizes market information into visualizations.
Managing Citations & Staying Organized
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies.
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: