Subject Databases
What is a database?
A collection of information, organized and stored electronically so it can be searched, updated, and maintained. They are organized by topic, subject, discipline, and/or item type.
How is a database different from Scout?
Scout is a search tool that returns results from the libraries’ catalog and a variety of databases. An individual database is a smaller collection of information that is focused on a particular topic or discipline. It will return a smaller number of results, but they are typically more focused in scope.
How do I access the databases provided by UA Libraries?
Since most databases are subscription-based, it is important to ensure that you are logged into myBama before accessing the databases. Your myBama credentials authenticate you as a UA student and will then allow seamless access to each database's content. The A-Z Databases page can be accessed from the UA Libraries Homepage or from the link provided below.
-
A-Z DatabasesIf you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
Education Databases
Not sure which database to start with? Try one of the Education-focused databases listed below. These databases provide a broad selection of content that focus on many disciplines within the field of Education.
-
ERIC EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
-
Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive full-text research database is designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers, covering all levels of education and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
-
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference is a comprehensive collection of journals and periodicals covering various educational levels, specialties, administration, funding, and policy issues.
-
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
The Enterprise PreK-12 comprehensive resource covers children’s literature books and media from beginning readers to young adults. It includes over 1.2 million titles and supporting content such as 600K professional reviews, 1.25K award sources representing 110K book awards, reading measurement programs, author links, lesson plans, and teaching guides. The Enterprise search engine offers 50 search filters and an 18 STEM terms search feature. It’s an excellent tool for selecting trade books, creating thematic reading lists, annotated bibliographies, interpreting reviews, and developing classroom collections.
