Gathering Background Information
Use these databases to gather broad information and background on your topic.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
- ScoutFind books, magazines, news and other sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal to the world of data and facts, categorized by subjects, and provides quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Exploring Local Topics
Use these Alabama newspapers to explore local topics.
- America's News This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources. Get full text and digital image access to local papers like The Birmingham News, The Mobile Press-Register, The Huntsville Times, and more.
- Crimson White, The This link opens in a new window
The digitized print edition of current issues and archives of The Crimson White, the student news organization and paper of record for The University of Alabama.
- Tuscaloosa News, The This link opens in a new window
Explore Tuscaloosa history through local news, events and people with Tuscaloosa News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Full-text access 2008-present. Digital Image access 2022-present.
Subject Databases
Find scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles in these Communications databases.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
- Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, magazines, newsletters, and videos covering various aspects of the communications
Books on Select Topics
Subject headings are specific words or phrases that are used to describe and organize a book by its content. Click on the following subject headings to find books in our catalog on topics related to rhetoric.