Research Guides: Costume Design: Art and Fashion Databases

Image Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.

ARTstor YouTube Channel
You MUST register for an ARTstor account in order to download images. These video tutorials will show you how to do that and more.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. This resource features articles written by noted history of fashion experts and included images from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Content also includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing allowing users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Women's Wear Daily This link opens in a new window
Women's Wear Daily (WWD) provides a balance of timely, credible business news and key fashion trends for retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, trend-makers and socialites.
Licensed for 7 simultaneous users.