Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Research Guide
We are all in this together. Staff and librarians are here to help!
For the most up-to-date information concerning the availability of resources and services that the University of Alabama Libraries provide, check out the following guide:
Finding Library Resources
The main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
A-Z Database List
If you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
E-Resources, or E-Journals on the main Libraries page, allows you to search our journal and e-book collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods focuses on the application of “methods,” broadly understood, to address the core substantive questions that currently motivate contemporary criminological research. It maps a canon of methods that are more elaborated than in most other fields of social science, and the intellectual terrain of research problems with which criminologists are routinely confronted
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.