Ask Me
Welcome!
This guide provides resources that will help you find the primary and secondary sources needed to complete your assignments. If you need any extra help or just have a question, please contact me at taboucher@ua.edu.
Guide Contents
- Primary SourcesUse this page to find primary sources.
- W.S. Hoole Special Collections LibraryUse this guide for more information on doing research at The University of Alabama's special collections library.
- Secondary Sources: Books & ArticlesUse this page to find secondary sources.
- Citation HelpUse this page to find resources that provide citation help.
Best Bets
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowHistory Vault is a collection of primary source material pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Current access includes: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991); The Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1993); Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953); The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1993); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The New York Times (1851-2013); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Scotsman (1817-1950); St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999); and The Washington Post (1877-2000).
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
- ScoutUse Scout to find books, eBooks, scholarly journal articles, etc.