Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning Lora Radio Networks with Arduino by
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Create your own LoRa wireless projects for non-industrial use and gain a strong basic understanding of the LoRa technology, LoRa WAN, and LPWAN.
A Hands-On Course in Sensors Using the Arduino and Raspberry Pi by
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
A Hands-On Course in Sensors using the Arduino and Raspberry Pi is the first book to give a practical and wide-ranging account of how to interface sensors and actuators with micro-controllers, Raspberry Pi and other control systems. The author describes the progression of raw signals through conditioning stages, digitization, data storage and presentation. The collection, processing, and understanding of sensor data plays a central role in industrial and scientific activities.
Raspberry Pi Resources
Computing with the Raspberry Pi by
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
The Raspberry Pi is about as minimalist as a computer gets, but it has the power to run a full Linux operating system and many great desktop and command line tools as well. Can you push it to operate at the level of a $2,000 computer? This book is here to help you find out. The primary focus of this book is getting as much as possible done with a simple Pi through non-graphic, non-mouse means. This means the keyboard and the text-mode screen. On the desktop side, you'll look at many of the most powerful GUI apps available, as these offer an easy entry to get started as you learn the command line. You'll begin by setting up and configuring a Raspberry Pi with the option to run it as a graphical desktop environment or even more economically boot straight to the command line. If you want more performance, more efficiency, and (arguably) less complexity from your Pi that can only be found through the keyboard and command line. You'll also set up and configure a Raspberry Pi to use command line tools from within either the Raspberry Pi terminal, or by logging in remotely through some other computer. Once in, you'll look at Package Managers, Tmux, Ranger, and Midnight Commander as general-purpose power tools. The book then gets into specific task-oriented tools for reading email, spreadsheet work, notes, security, web browsing and design, social media, task and video password management, coding, and much more. There are conceptual overviews of Markdown, LaTeX, and Vim for work.
Raspberry Pi Image Processing Programming by
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Write your own Digital Image Processing programs with the use of pillow, scipy.ndimage, and matplotlib in Python 3 with Raspberry Pi 3 as the hardware platform. This concise quick-start guide provides working code examples and exercises. Learn how to interface Raspberry Pi with various image sensors. What You'll Learn Understand Raspberry Pi concepts and setup Understand digital image processing concepts Study pillow, the friendly PIL fork Explore scipy.ndimage and matplotlib Master use of the Pi camera and webcam Who This Book Is For Raspberry Pi and IoT enthusiasts, digital image processing enthusiasts, Python and Open Source enthusiasts and professionals
Signal Processing Resources
Signal Processing for Passive Bistatic Radar by
Publication Date: 2019-08-31
This cutting-edge resource introduces the basic concepts of passive bistatic radar, such as bistatic geometry, bistatic radar equation and analysis of different illuminating signals. These techniques, although known for almost a century, have not been developed intensively for decades, mainly due to technical limitations, but today, the passive radar concept can be realized in practice, and is of great interest for military and civilian users. This book provides insight into understanding the potential and limitations of passive radar systems, as well as the differences between signal processing in active and passive radar. Each of the signal processing stages typically applied in passive radar is described, including digital beamforming, clutter removal, target detection, localization and tracking. These concepts are illustrated with both simulated and measured data along with examples of passive radar systems.
Communication, Signal Processing and Information Technology by
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Communication & Signal Processing involving topics such as: CommunicationsTheory and Techniques, Communications Protocols and Standards, TelecommunicationSystems, Modulation and Signal Design, Coding Compression andInformation Theory, Communication Networks, Wireless Communication, OpticalCommunication, Wireless Sensor Networks, MIMO Systems, MIMO Communications,Signal Processing for Communications e-Learning. Digital SignalProcessing, Multiresolution Analysis, Wavelets, Smart Antennas, AdaptiveAntennas, Theory and Practice of Signal Processing, Digital Signal Processing,Speech, Image, Video Signal Processing, Person Authentication, Biometry,Medical Imaging, Remote Sensing Analysis, Image Indexation, Image compression,Data Fusion and Pattern Recognition, Parallel Computing, ArtificialIntelligence, Information Retrieval.
Fundamentals of Communications Systems by
Publication Date: 2007-07-18
Get a Solid Account of Physical Layer Communications Theory, Illustrated with Numerous Interactive MATLAB Mini-Projects You can rely on Fundamentals of Communications Systems for a solid introduction to physical layer communications theory, filled with modern implementations and MATLAB examples. This state-of-the-art guide covers essential theory and current engineering practice, carefully explaining the real-world tradeoffs necessary among performance, spectral efficiency, and complexity. Written by an award-winning communications expert, the book first takes readers through analog communications basics, amplitude modulations, analog angle modulation, and random processes. This essential resource then explains noise in bandpass communications systems...bandpass Gaussian random processes...digital communications basics...complexity of optimum demodulation...spectrally efficient data transmission...and more.
Remote Sensing Resources
Multisensor Data Fusion and Machine Learning for Environmental Remote Sensing by
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
In the last few years the scientific community has realized that obtaining a better understanding of interactions between natural systems and the man-made environment across different scales demands more research efforts in remote sensing. An integrated Earth system observatory that merges surface-based, air-borne, space-borne, and even underground sensors with comprehensive and predictive capabilities indicates promise for revolutionizing the study of global water, energy, and carbon cycles as well as land use and land cover changes. The aim of this book is to present a suite of relevant concepts, tools, and methods of integrated multisensor data fusion and machine learning technologies to promote environmental sustainability. The process of machine learning for intelligent feature extraction consists of regular, deep, and fast learning algorithms. The niche for integrating data fusion and machine learning for remote sensing rests upon the creation of a new scientific architecture in remote sensing science that is designed to support numerical as well as symbolic feature extraction managed by several cognitively oriented machine learning tasks at finer scales. By grouping a suite of satellites with similar nature in platform design, data merging may come to help for cloudy pixel reconstruction over the space domain or concatenation of time series images over the time domain, or even both simultaneously. Organized in 5 parts, from Fundamental Principles of Remote Sensing; Feature Extraction for Remote Sensing; Image and Data Fusion for Remote Sensing; Integrated Data Merging, Data Reconstruction, Data Fusion, and Machine Learning; to Remote Sensing for Environmental Decision Analysis, the book will be a useful reference for graduate students, academic scholars, and working professionals who are involved in the study of Earth systems and the environment for a sustainable future. The new knowledge in this book can be applied successfully in many areas of environmental science and engineering.
An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing by
Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Introduces the latest developments in remote sensing and imaging science. This book covers basic principles and discusses essential technologies, such as aerial photography, radar, Lidar (light detection and ranging), photogrammetry, satellites, thermal radiation, and much more. Full-color images illustrate the concepts presented, and review questions at the end of each chapter help reinforce learning. This detailed resource provides the solid foundation in remote sensing required for developing diverse geospatial applications. Coverage includes: Geographic information system (GIS) Global positioning system (GPS), mobile mapping, and Google Earth Electromagnetic radiation principles Characteristics of remotely sensed data Spatial, spectral, radiometric, and temporal resolution Aerial photo interpretation Photogrammetry Remote sensors Earth observation satellites Digital image analysis Thermal remote sensing Active remote sensing
Bluetooth Communication Resources
Beacon Technologies by
Publication Date: 2016-06-17
Learn the key standards--iBeacon, Eddystone, Bluetooth 4.0, and AltBeacon--and how they work with other proximity technologies. Then build your understanding of the proximity framework and how to identify and deploy the best solutions for your own business, institutional, or consulting needs. Proximity technology--in particular, Bluetooth beacons--is a major source of business opportunity, and this book provides everything you need to know to architect a solution to capitalize on that opportunity.
Data Communications and Networking by
Publication Date: 2006-02-09
This fourth edition brings the student to the forefront of the latest advances in the field of data communications and networking. It presents the fundamentals in a clear manner, using a visual approach and real life applications.