Recommended Databases for Video in Research
Looking for video clips that demonstrate research methodologies, data collection methods, classroom practices, or clinical practices? Take a look at some of the video databases below.
- Education Collection: Sage Video This link opens in a new window
This collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice.
- Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is a digital resource designed for teacher training, offering a variety of videos including teaching demonstrations and documentaries. It allows education students to observe teaching techniques and provides helpful tools for educators.
- Sage Knowledge Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video showcases educational video across social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding.
- Sage Research Methods Video Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video has videos which include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
Recommended Movie Databases for Streaming Video
Occasionally, faculty may require or suggest films instead of books or articles. UA Libraries subscribes to a number of streaming video services including Swank Motion Pictures & Kanopy. These are easily accessible via the A-Z Database list.
- Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, etc.
UA Libraries YouTube Channel
UA Libraries maintains a robust and active YouTube channel which contains over 100 tutorial videos. These videos cover a range of topics related to conducting research, specific database instruction, and general library events and instruction. Use the built-in playlists or available search bar to locate a video by title or topic.