Alabama
- Civil Rights and Social Activism in Alabama: The Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-1976 and Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-1987 (Gale Primary Resources) This link opens in a new window
John L. LeFlore was a key figure in the fight for black equality in Mobile, Alabama, southern Alabama, Mississippi, and along the Florida Gulf Coast. He was the first African American appointed to the Housing Board and elected to the state legislature since Reconstruction. His work dates back to 1961-1975.
- Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963This archive details Operation Oak Tree, the codename for the Army's plans to intervene in Alabama in the event of civil disturbances related to school integration in May 1963. Operation Palm Tree extended the operation over a wider area. The documents in this collection are sourced from the Records of the Department of the Army, in the custody of the National Archives of the United States.
- America's Historical Newspapers: Mobile Register This link opens in a new window
The Mobile Register, various issues ranging from 1858 - 1992. Published in Mobile, Alabama.
- The CorollaThe University of Alabama yearbook, The Corolla, was first published in 1893 and has been published every year through 2014.
- The Crimson WhiteStudent newspaper of the University of Alabama. Currently online: September 1950 - May 1953; September 1955 - August 1968; September 1970 - August 1974
General Collections
- African American LivesThis digital collection consists of materials related to African American lives, emphasizing matters of education, politics, and labor.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
- Civil Rights History ProjectA large collection from The Library of Congress. The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary source material pertaining to the civil rights movement and to U.S. foreign policy during the Vietnam War era. Includes federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in five subject categories.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970's. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and includes document projects and archives with full-text. Topics include: suffrage, anti-slavery, women's rights, temperance, women's clubs. Also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Working Lives Oral History ProjectFunded by an NEH grant, this project focuses on black working class social history of Birmingham, Alabama prior to World War II. It explores the implications of the immigration of blacks from the rural Deep South to urban metropolitan areas and for understanding the social history of first and second generation black wage earners within the context of urban-industrial development and social change in one New South city.
Newspapers and Periodicals
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states, 1827-1998.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to periodicals by and about African Americans. Representing 26 states, the publications offer a range of material, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers. The collection includes extensive coverage of smaller local African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries that are unavailable elsewhere.
Law and Government
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints. Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
This set includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. The Serial Set captures American life from the late 19th century onward from westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing.