Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UA Libraries during the COVID-19 Pandemic
We are all in this together and our staff and librarians are here to help you navigate this transition.
For the most up-to-date information concerning the availability of resources and services that the University of Alabama Libraries provide, check out the following guide:
Welcome to the research guide for German language, literature, and culture resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials in the German language.
If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Information Desk or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse, specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, both in and about German language, literature, and culture. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
Scout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work, electronic collections, images, streaming media, and much more.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG)
KLG - Critical Dictionary of Contemporary German Literature is the standard work on contemporary German literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Contains articles that comprehensively identify notable German-speaking authors. Detailed essays overlooking work and impact are complemented by extensive business directories and bibliographies of secondary literature.
BDSL: Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
German language index of (primarily) German language periodicals. Covers all aspects of German language and literature.
Live Chat Now Available
Librarians will be on hand to respond to your questions in real time. Consider this a virtual reference desk for any questions you may have about the University Libraries.
Live chat will be staffed Monday-Saturday from 8:00am CDT to 9:00pm CDT and on Sunday from 12:00pm CDT to 9:00pm CDT.