Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HY 105 Honors Western Civilization to 1648: Home

Welcome to the library guide for HY 105!

Ask Me

Alex Boucher's picture
Alex Boucher
Contact:
Gorgas 106
Phone: 205-348-6584
Schedule a Research Consultation

Searching for Texts on Your Favorite Medieval or Ancient Figure?

If you are searching for texts written by a specific ancient or medieval figure, you can often their texts online since these works are usually not copyrighted.  Type in the name of the person Google along with a word like texts, writings, or works.

You can find the famous Scholasticism philosopher's writings at:

Thomas Aquinas' Works in English

Tips on Finding Credible Web Sites

Tips on Finding Credible Sites:

>One clue that can help you decide if a site is credible is the domain name.  In general, sites that end with "edu" (educational sites), "gov" (government sites), or "org" (nonprofit organizations) offer more credible information than sites that end with "com" (commerical sites trying to sell something).

Add site:Edu to your search to focus on educational web sites:

Crusades weapons site:edu

That search will find only college and university web sites about the weapons of the Crusades.

>Here are some special search engines that limit your searches to credible sites:     

IPL2—works like Yahoo, but finds mostly quality sites discovered by librarians.

>Google your topic along with the keyword "library guide" or "libguide".  This will lead you to library web sites about your topic, and librarians generally list only high-quality sites on their pages!

Virtual Artifacts and Images

ARTstor--over a million historical images, including ancient weapons, pottery, icons, coins, fashions, illuminated manuscripts, artwork, maps,historical costumes, virutal tours of historic buildings.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online--ancient and medieval images, pictures of icons, relics, artifacts.

Index of Christian Art --"descriptions and photographs of Christian art from early apostolic times to AD 1550. Although the focus is on art of the western world, the database includes examples from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East."

Texts

Best Bets:

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook

Internet Medieval History Sourcebook

Internet Classics Archive 

 

Other Resources:

Hanover Historical Texts Archives--Greek and medieval texts, including the works of ancient Church writers and Crusader letters.

Labyrinth--primary and secondary texts on the medieval period, you can limit to primary texts.

Iter - several medieval and Renaissance collections.

Biblical, Jewish, and Early Christianity via Google Book Search--links to the texts of many early Saints, most of the famous sets Patrologina Latina (collected works of the Latin Fathers) and Patrologina Graeca (collected works of the Greek Fathers).

British History Online--"British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust."

Christian Classics Ethereal Library--"digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education."

Regesta Imperii--"literature search in more than 1 million tracks to the Middle Ages...full text of more than 150,000 online calendar entries from the Carolingians to Maximilian I."

Scout Search

Use Scout to search for books, journals, articles, and more.



Scholarly Articles

JSTOR - a great source of ancient and medieval journal articles.

Historical Abstracts - search by historical period!

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials - great for studiyng religious artifacts

Google Scholar- a special part of Google that searches maninly scholarly articles and books.

Iter - several medieval and Renaissance collections.