Finding Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Dissertations and Theses at The University of AlabamaA companion database to ProQuest Digital Dissertations, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Searching for Primary Literature
Primary literature represents the first time information is published. This can be in the form of a peer-reviewed journal article, a data set, a thesis or dissertation, a technical report, or even a patent.
Below are sets of resources where you can locate primary literature on your research topic including databases indexing peer reviewed journal articles, specific journals in invertebrate zoology, as well as a few search options for dissertations and theses.
Subject Databases
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers journal literature in the life sciences including general biology, cell biology, genetics, zoology, botany, microbiology, evolutionary biology, molecular biology, ecology and more.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text of various bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Browsable by date and searchable by author and keyword in the title, abstract, full-text, or reference fields.
- Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
This database covers animal biology. The scope of coverage, back to 1864, ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Includes periodicals as well as many books, reports and meetings.
bioRxiv (the preprint server for biology)
This is an online archive of unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Database is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank
Repository of Data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, and other biomolecules.
SciFinder Scholar provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Also included is access to CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and the SciFinder PatentPak plugin. PatentPak provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
Special login Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions for SciFinder registration are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder Web, click here to login.
Invertebrate Zoology Journals
- Invertebrate BiologyCovers all aspects of invertebrate biology; all groups, all stages, all sizes, including protists and all invertebrate metazoans.
- Invertebrate SystematicsInvertebrate Systematics publishes work on the systematics, phylogeny and biogeography of all invertebrate taxa. It also includes work on species of particular conservation, economic, medical or veterinary importance.
- Invertebrate Survival JournalDevoted to prompt and innovative studies on the basic defense mechanisms in invertebrates.
- Freshwater BiologyCovers all aspects of the ecology of lakes and rivers, including studies of micro-organisms, algae, invertebrates, fish and other vertebrates as well as those concerning whole systems and related physical and chemical aspects of the environment.
- African Invertebrates: A Journal of Biodiversity ResearchTopics dealt with are taxonomy, systematics, biogeography, biology, ecology and conservation.
- ZoomorphologyFeatures original papers based on morphological investigation of invertebrates and vertebrates at the macroscopic, microscopic and and ultrastructural levels, including embryological studies.
- Journal of Hymenoptera ResearchCovers all aspects of Hymenoptera, including biology, behavior, ecology, systematics, taxonomy, genetics and morphology.
- Journal of Molluscan StudiesPeer-reviewed coverage of the biology of mollusks, including molecular genetics, cladistic phylogenetics and ecophysiology as well as ecological, behavioral and systematic malacology.
Core Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and books in the areas of business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology.