It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Language and Culture: Start Here
Explore library resources related to Japanese Language and Culture.
Welcome to the research guide for Japanese language and culture resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials related to Japan in both English and Japanese. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse, specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, both in and about Japanese language, literature, and culture. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Archives Unbound provides collections of historical primary documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Collections included:
The Shakespeare Collection
City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Mississippi, 1860-1929; North Carolina, 1886-1929; Tennessee, 1849-1929; Virginia, 1801-1929
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918