Skip to main content
University of Alabama Libraries
Music Library Resources
Search this Guide
Music Library Resources: Home
Music, Dance, and Theatre Subject Guides
Access to University Libraries During Fall 2020
Library Resources in the time of COVID-19
Renew Library Materials
Reference and Instruction
Checking Out Course Reserves
Placing Items on Reserve
Search many UA library resources simultaneously, including books, articles, and UA's digital collections.
Search for specific items in the Libraries' Catalog.
Search libraries worldwide.
Online Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Grove (Oxford) Music Online
Dissertations in Musicology
Dissertations in MusicTheory
Online Resources for Music Scholars
(maintained by Harvard College Library)
Information about and reviews of recordings of every kind of music.
American Memory at the Library of Congress
Provides access to documents, sound recordings, and videos in the Library of Congress collection.
NewMusic USA Online Library
Search the database for works by more than 6,000 American composers.
J.S. Bach: Texts of the Complete Vocal Works with English Translation and Commentary
Center for Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities
This center, at Stanford University, is engaged in the development of computer applications in the study of music and in creating large databases of musical scores.
Find Articles on Music
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Music Periodicals Database
Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text
Music Index Online
Cambridge Companions to Music
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Audio and Video
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Note: System Requirements for the optimum experience - an audio-enabled computer, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 or later, Windows Media Player v8 or later.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Digital Theatre Plus
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
Films On Demand
Kanopy Films Streaming Service
Met Opera on Demand
Access limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Naxos Music Library
Unlimited simultaneous users. The Naxos Music Library streams exclusively with Adobe Flash Player. If Adobe Flash Player 10 is not installed on your computer, please take a moment and install: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Swank Motion Pictures
For the latest information on system requirements
Libraries' Video Collection:
Browse a list of the libraries' collection of DVDs and VHS tapes
Scores and Sheet Music Online
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Scores may be printed and projected for use in the classroom. Users may not use printed copies for performance.
Recent Researches in Music Online
IMSLP - Petrucci Music Library
Choral Public Domain Library
Eastman School of Music Digital Scores
Digital Mozart Edition
Chopin Early Editions
Sheet Music Consortium
Music Treasures Consortium at the Library of Congress
African American Sheet Music at Brown University
Variations - Online Scores from Indiana University
More Music Library Resources
Transcriptions and translations of art songs.
Musical Theater Songs
Find songs for your voice and character type.
The database provides a link to Worldcat so users can have the information to obtain scores/recordings/sheet music when available directly through the University of Alabama Libraries.
RISM Repertoire International des Sources Musicales
Find musical manuscripts in libraries worldwide.
Find music iconography.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama
Art/ Architecture/ Applied Arts
Theatre & Dance
Contact Gorgas Library
Call, email, or visit
Text us at 205-377-0920
Ask A Librarian FAQS
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Subscribe to our YouTube Channel
Music, Dance, and Theatre Subject Guides >>
Sep 2, 2020 4:09 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.