Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for percussion resources in the library! This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, scores, recordings, and digital projects. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if there is anything else I can do to help!
Recording and Music Technology
-
Whisper BoothsThe U.A. Libraries can help you create audio projects, such as voiceovers and simple keyboard and acoustic instrumental recordings. Two booths are available by reservation.
-
Sanford Media CenterUse our software to bring your multimedia project to life! We provide support for a variety of digital media software, including the entire Adobe Creative Suite, music production software, and video editing programs.
-
Alabama Digital Humanities Center (A.D.H.C.)Offers faculty, staff, and graduate students resources to explore digital humanities. Organized and supported by a community of academics at the University of Alabama, the A.D.H.C. provides technical skills, equipment, and collaborative opportunities to researchers at all levels of expertise and interest in the field.
Finding Library Resources
- ScoutThe main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
- A-Z DatabasesIf you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
- Publication FinderPublication Finder, on the main Libraries page, allows you to search our journal and e-book collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the book or article you need is not available through the University Libraries, you can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy from another library.
Quick Links
-
ScoutScout is our online catalog. It's a great place to start your research because it searches most of our collection.
-
Ask a LibrarianNeed some help? Use Ask a Librarian to chat online with a librarian or browse the FAQs.
-
How do I...Tips & tutorials on the ways that UA Libraries can help make your time at UA a success. How to find articles and books, where to get help, and more!
InterLibrary Loan 2025
This video will walk you through the steps to request materials through UA Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: