Articles & Databases Page
When considering databases in religious studies, ATLA is a comprehensive resource for disciplinary specific publications. That being said, religion is discussed in regards to many other topics, so it wouldn't hurt to search JSTOR and Project Muse as well.
Scripture Research
This video will address how to use the Scripture Search feature in ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials.
Databases
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Useful Library Links
Accessing Resources
-
Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
-
Lean Library This link opens in a new window
A browser extension that works with UA Libraries' systems to give you seamless access when working away from campus. Once downloaded, you’ll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that University Libraries can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Directs you to an open access version of what you are looking for if it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request items from other libraries to be sent to UA for you to borrow.
-
A-Z DatabasesFollow this link to find and search in other databases specific to your subject.
Using the Library
-
How do I...? A Guide for New Library UsersVisit this guide for general help on doing research at UA Libraries.
-
Frequently Asked QuestionsSearch or browse to find answers to many of your questions about using the library.
-
Report a Login ProblemIf you have a problem accessing electronic library resources, filling out this form is the fastest way to have your issue resolved.