Academic Databases
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
Selected Journals
- African Diaspora"This scholarly journal seeks to understand how African cultures and societies shape and are shaped by historical and current diasporic and transnational movements."
- Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies"Dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of the history, culture, social structure, politics & economics of both the traditional diasporas & those transnational dispersions which in the past three decades have chosen to identify themselves as diasporas."
Newspaper and Primary Source Databases
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowReports, annuals, magazines, and newspapers from African-American churches and social service agencies. Includes materials from the African Methodist Zion Church, African Methodist Episcopal Church, as well as many Baptist churches, seminaries, hospitals, charities, orphanages, schools, and advocacy groups.
- Black Life in America: Series 3, 1976-today This link opens in a new window
Series 3 of Black Life in America provides authoritative coverage of every issue involved in America's ongoing conversation on race, including Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states, 1827-1998.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to periodicals by and about African Americans. Representing 26 states, the publications offer a range of material, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.