Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research on Scholarly Publishing
Browse articles in these journals to learn more about the scholarly publishing industry and the options for publication.
Journal of Scholarly Publishing
The Journal of Scholarly Publishing targets the unique issues facing the scholarly publishing industry today. It is the indispensable resource for academics and publishers that addresses the new challenges resulting from changes in technology, funding and innovations in publishing. In serving the wide-ranging interests of the international academic publishing community, JSP provides a balanced look at the issues and concerns, from solutions to everyday publishing problems to commentary on the philosophical questions at large.
Learned Publishing publishes peer reviewed research, reviews, industry updates and opinions on all aspects of scholarly communication and publishing. Written by and published for everyone involved with scholarly and professional communications, our readership includes publishers, vendors, librarians, academics and researchers from around the world.
Choosing a Journal
Use one of these databases to search for and compare journal outlets for your articles:
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Cabell's provides publishing information on journals to assist users interested in getting their work published. Available information includes addresses, phones, e-mails and web sites for listed journals to assist as a point of reference when preparing to publish a manuscript. Links are also provided directing users to guidelines and submission information. Includes Journalytics and Predatory Reports. Author Services including publication support services are not included.
Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
Investigate these questions when selecting a journal:
- Is this a journal you have cited?
- Have scholars you admire published there?
- What is the review process?
- Do the editors and editorial board members have strong reputations in your field?
- What are the copyright and open access policies of the journal? Can you make your article publicly available on your own or your institution's website?
- Are there publication fees?
Automated Journal Selection
Use one of these tools to match words from your title and abstract to topically appropriate journals:
Use one of these tools to compare citation rankings of journals:
Choosing a Book Publisher
- Look at university presses. Check out the topic coverage outlined by the Association of University Presses.
- Who published the academic books on your bookshelf?
- Search the library catalog for keywords related to your topic. Who publishes books on these topics?