Finding Books
Scout is a powerful search tool that can be used to find both print and electronic books. Scout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work (e.g., R.I.LM.), electronic collections (e.g., HathiTrust), streaming media (e.g., Naxos and Alexander Street Press), and much more. Because Scout casts a wide net, many students like to use it as a starting point for their research. While Scout may be useful as you begin gathering resources, please note that you will probably need to search the appropriate subject databases to adequately cover your topic.
The Libraries' Catalog is a "traditional" library catalog of local holdings. The catalog may be used to find print books, sound recording, films, and scores, as well as some e-books and streaming media assets. When using the catalog, we recommend starting your search from the "Advanced Search" tab.
E-Books
The library provides access to thousands of electronic books in every discipline and subject area. There are multiple ways to view an e-book. You can access e-books via PDF or e-pub format in your web browser. Or you can check them out by downloading them to your computer or mobile device offline access.
You can also view e-books through various content providers below.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
- JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed book in the humanities from the disciplines of law medicine, anthropology, history, and philosophy.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.
Need a refresher on how to access and download e-books on your device? Watch the following tutorial on how to "check out" e-books using Adobe Digital Editions.
Books at Other Libraries
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowContains all the records cataloged by O.C.L.C. member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.
WorldCat is a shared international library catalog documenting the holdings of libraries across the United States, as well as many international institutions. If you would like to expand your search for resources beyond the items available locally at the University of Alabama, WorldCat is an excellent resource. Just like our local library catalog, WorldCat can be searched by keyword, author, title, subject heading, and more. Items may be requested through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system.
Oxford Reference
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Reference Online Premium collection contains reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others. Includes the popular “Oxford Companion” series.
Dictionary Plus Performing ArtsThis dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on styles, dramatists, performers, companies, and organizations related to the performing arts. These entries are supplementary to other performing arts titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. Race and theatre, the nature of acting, censorship, safety, special effects, and media and performance are all debated.
