Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Guide to MLA 8
The official MLA site, with a link to an interactive guide to help you learn how to write citations in MLA style.
Purdue OWL Guide to MLA 8
An excellent resource for all aspects of research and citation, this site includes sample papers, resources for in-text citations, and directions and examples of citations for all different kinds of sources.
APA Style Guide Website
Quick answers for citing a variety of specific sources and formatting questions.
UA Libraries Guide to APA 7th Edition
Examples and links from UA Libraries to help you properly use and format in-text citations and bibliographic entries in APA 7.
Purdue OWL Guide to APA Style
Examples and resources for formatting your paper, in-text citations, and bibliographic entries for research papers as well as presentations and other formats.
*Updated for the 7th Edition
Free DOI Lookup
APA often requires a digital object identifier (DOI), which is a unique identifier for sources. Use this website find the DOI for your source if it isn't already provide by the source itself.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Access to the Chicago Manual of Style website. If you're accessing it from off campus, you will be prompted for your myBama credentials.
Purdue OWL Guide to Chicago Style
The Purdue OWL guide to Chicago style contains sample papers and resources for formatting footnotes, endnotes, and your bibliography.
Tools and Software
UA students and faculty have access to several options for saving and managing citations. Each of the options outlined in this box allows users to save items from a browser, access your library online, and has Microsoft Word integration to help you generate accurate in-text citations and bibliographies.
You can also use ZoteroBib, a free tool that will generate a bibliography for you without creating an account.
RefWorks is a web-based citation management program that allows you to save citations, attach pdfs, organize your files by project, and generate formatted citation lists. Your RefWorks account will remain active even after you leave the University of Alabama.
EndNote is citation management software that allows users to create customized libraries of references, automatically create citations and bibliography matching the requirements of the selected journal or style manual, sync and share references, and more. In addition to installing EndNote on personal or University machines, users can also access EndNote anywhere using EndNote online.
Zotero is a free, open-source tool that automatically senses different types of sources from a browser plug-in that allows you to add items to your library, options for collaboration, and integration with Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice.
UA's Zotero Guide
This guide will help you get started with Zotero, and provides links to resources for using advanced features.
Getting started with Zotero
Watch the video and follow the simple directions to get started.
Use this free tool to generate a bibliography without making an account. Be sure to double check that the information it generates is accurate.
Guide to Using Zotero (UC Berkeley)
This comprehensive guide will walk you through the basics of installing Zotero and organizing your library, and includes clear instructions for more advanced functions.
University of Alabama Writing Center
The University Writing Center provides free one-on-one consultations for UA students in all disciplines. We help students build confidence as writers, revise drafts, and develop the skills necessary for long-term improvement. We offer feedback on any kind of writing, whether it is personal, professional, or academic. Students can bring their draft in at any stage in the process and get help with brainstorming, understanding an assignment, researching a topic, drafting, revising, working with sources, or improving their grammar & style. The Writing Center also provides consultations to help faculty members create effective writing assignments and incorporate writing instruction into their classes.