Research Guides: Social Work: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Academic Articles

UA Libraries provides many resources for locating academic, scholarly, peer-reviewed sources.

A-Z Databases: Social Work
Visit this link to access databases that provide access to social work research. You may want to edit the subjects limiter to access some other databases if your topic is interdisciplinary.
Scout
Scout searches many of the library's databases at the same time. It's a great resource and a good place to start your research.
Publication Finder
Visit this link to search for specific journals the library provides access to. From here you can also browse journal volumes and issues.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries.

Here are just a few databases that may help with getting started on your research.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
APA PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Social Services Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes serials and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociology Source Ultimate

Provides materials for social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.