Research Guides: UH 261: Issues and Trends in Healthcare: Resources

Finding Library Resources

Scout
The main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
A-Z Databases
If you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
Publication Finder
Publication Finder, on the main Libraries page, allows you to search our journal and e-book collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
Interlibrary Loan
If the book or article you need is not available through the University Libraries, you can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy from another library.

CDC Wonder
Provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems, both local and external, categorized here by topic.
CDC FASTSTATS
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Statista
A statistics portal to the world of data and facts, categorized by subjects, and provides quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Statista uses Single-Sign On (SSO) authentication to verify users institutional access. Click “Access Database” above and login to mybama using your ua.edu email address and mybama password.

Start with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints below. Browse by topic and explore news, opinion, in-depth journalism, and academic sources.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.

Sociology Source Ultimate

Provides materials for social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
APA PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is a comprehensive database for nursing and allied health research, offering full text for journals, quick lessons, care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
Alt-HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch contains publications covering alternative, holistic and complementary approaches to health; includes popular publications and peer-reviewed journals.

Try one of these options instead: