African American Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.

Provides news source coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the mainstream media.

GenderWatch is a comprehensive resource for gender and women's studies. It offers full articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. 

Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.

This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states, 1827-1998.

An Accessible Archives' collection offers first-hand reports on 1800s cultural life and history, including major events, biographies, statistics, essays, poetry, prose, and advertisements, covering topics like the Mexican War, business, and religion.

Part of Accessible Archives, National Anti-Slavery Standard was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society. Part I covers 1840-1844, Part II covers 1845-1849, Part III covers 1850-1854, Part IV covers 1855-1859, Part V covers 1860-1864 and Part VI covers 1865-1870.

This collections features publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to dailies and includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, labor groups and other groups and interests. Also included in the collection are illustrated papers from a variety of artists.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.