Librarian
Getting Started
These databases are all good starting points for finding books and scholarly materials on gender and sexuality. For searching help, see the strategies for searching page or use the links in the box to the left to contact your librarian.
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a comprehensive resource for gender and women's studies. It offers full articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender literature published worldwide. Citations represent periodical articles, books, newspapers, newsletters, case studies, speeches, and other formats. Also includes full text for GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as numerous full text books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Reference Works (Encyclopedias, etc.)
Reference works like encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies can be great starting points when you're new to a subject area, or looking for a topic. Below are some recent reference works that are available online through UA Libraries. To find more specific reference works, explore the digital collections linked below, or try searching in Scout with the terms "encyclopedia," "handbook," "guide," or "companion" along with your key words.
- Bibliographies in Gender and Women's StudiesCurated by librarians, faculty, and graduate students in women's studies and library and information studies at the University of Wisconsin, this list of bibliographies covers a wide range of topics.
Beyond Gender: An Advanced Introduction to Futures of Feminist and Sexuality Studies by Publication Date: 2018Beyond Gender combines theoretical work with practical applications to provide an advanced introduction to contemporary feminist and sexuality research and advocacy. This comprehensive monograph documents the diversification of gender-related disciplines and struggles, arguing for a multidisciplinary approach to issues formerly subsumed under the unified field of gender studies.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality: Understanding Biology, Psychology, and Culture by Publication Date: 2021Entries cover a breadth of subjects, such as the major contributors to the field of sexology; the biological, psychological, and cultural dimensions of sex and sexuality; and how the modern-day political climate and the government play a major role in determining attitudes and beliefs about sex.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by Publication Date: 2021This encyclopedia, featuring nearly 300 authoritative essays, takes an interdisciplinary approach to trans studies. Coverage includes psychology, sociology, history, family studies, K-12 and higher education, law/political science, medicine, anthropology, economics, literature, popular culture, the media, and sports.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Publication Date: 2016This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives.
Useful Library Links
Accessing Resources
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- Lean Library This link opens in a new window
A browser extension that works with UA Libraries' systems to give you seamless access when working away from campus. Once downloaded, you’ll be alerted via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that University Libraries can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions. Directs you to an open access version of what you are looking for if it exists elsewhere or to interlibrary loan if it's not in our collection.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request items from other libraries to be sent to UA for you to borrow.
- A-Z DatabasesFollow this link to find and search in other databases specific to your subject.
Using the Library
- How do I...? A Guide for New Library UsersVisit this guide for general help on doing research at UA Libraries.
- Frequently Asked QuestionsSearch or browse to find answers to many of your questions about using the library.
- Report a Login ProblemIf you have a problem accessing electronic library resources, filling out this form is the fastest way to have your issue resolved.
How can we help?
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: