Librarian
Introduction
This subject guide is an introduction to some of the resources available for the study of acting. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or if there is anything I can do to help!
Finding Library Resources
- ScoutThe main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
- A-Z DatabasesIf you want to access to a specific database, you'll find it here. You can filter the list alphabetically, or browse databases by subject area or type of materials.
- Publication FinderPublication Finder, on the main Libraries page, allows you to search our journal and e-book collection by journal title, or browse by subject.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the book or article you need is not available through the University Libraries, you can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy from another library.
Quick Links
- ScoutScout is our online catalog. It's a great place to start your research because searches most of our collection.
- Ask a LibrarianNeed some help? Use Ask a Librarian to chat online with a librarian or browse the FAQs.
- How do I...Tips & tutorials on the ways that UA Libraries can help make your time at UA a success. How to find articles and books, where to get help, and more!
InterLibrary Loan 2024
This video will walk you through the steps to request materials through UA Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Best Bets
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
- Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains records for plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
- Black Drama (Second Edition) This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written by more numerous playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseOfficial database for Broadway theatre information. Includes names of people involved, dates of plays, interesting facts, and production statistics.
Awards
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: