Play Index
-
Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains records for plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
Gale Literature: LitFinder
-
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature: LitFinder offers a diverse collection of literary works and secondary sources from around the world and throughout history. It includes full-text poems, short stories, presidential speeches, and plays, as well as biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can easily search for authors and works based on various criteria.
Play Collections in Databases
-
North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition This link opens in a new windowThis edition of North American Indian Drama contains many previously unpublished works and represents groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
-
Black Drama (Second Edition) This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written by more numerous playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
Oxford Dictionary of Plays
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays, 2nd ed.
Provides essential information on the best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary. Genres covered include: burlesque, comedy, farce, historical drama, kabuki, masque, melodrama, morality play, mystery play, No, romantic comedy, tragicomedy, satire, and tragedy. The perfect guide for students and scholars of drama and literature, theatre professionals, and directors looking for plays for performance.
Websites
-
DoolleeFree online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written for, adapted to, or translated into English since the production of "Look Back in Anger" in 1956.
-
Inter-PlayOnline index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals, and in a variety of languages. The sources indexed range from the late 19th century through present day. This database is maintained by the library at Portland State University.