Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for Arabic language and literature resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials related to the Arab world. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse, specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
Typing in Arabic
- ArabikeyArabiKey’s keyboard is intended for computer users possessing a QWERTY or any other physical keyboard without Arabic letters displayed. The keyboard aims to allow you to write in the Arabic language while viewing the letters you press. The keyboard is designed to make it easier for you to type in Arabic and puts all the numbers, diacritics, and other symbols at your disposal.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, both in and about Arabic language, literature, and culture. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters Online This link opens in a new window
The Lexikon des Mittelalters online (LexMA) is a research tool for medievalists of all disciplines. Based upon the prominent encyclopaedia for medievalists, LexMA covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500.
- Europa Sacra This link opens in a new window
Europa Sacra, part of the Brepolis Medieval Encyclopaedias cluster, is a comprehensive database for studying Church prelates from the Early Church to the Early Modern Period, covering medieval bishoprics and patriarchates.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.
