Resources for Arabic
Literary Criticism
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism, The This link opens in a new window
This guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary criticism/theory. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries and sub-entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. The Guide is updated annually.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center offers a wide range of literary resources for researchers to support their own responses, analysis, and thesis statements. It includes primary works, analysis, biographical information, criticism, and reviews that promote interdisciplinary approaches and critical thinking.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Collections of poetry, prose and drama from authors of diverse, underrepresented groups, reflecting different ethnicities, beliefs and orientations. Includes contemporary and historical criticisms.
Bibliography
- Contemporary Authors (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors in the U.S. and around the world.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name that provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
History Subject Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters Online This link opens in a new window
The Lexikon des Mittelalters online (LexMA) is a research tool for medievalists of all disciplines. Based upon the prominent encyclopaedia for medievalists, LexMA covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500.
- International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, with content chronological range from 300-1500 CE, and covers all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Content often complements and supplements the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).
Primary Source Databases
- Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound provides collections of historical primary documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history.
- HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which began in 1861 under President Abraham Lincoln, contains books and documents from various Presidential libraries as well as different governmental agencies.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
The FBIS collection consists of intelligence reports from 1941-1996, gathered by the CIA from various sources like government publications, newspapers, and broadcasts. These documents, now accessible in a digital format, offer valuable insights into global events during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources offers a comprehensive platform for research, enabling users to search multiple collections simultaneously. It goes beyond basic retrieval, providing tools for analysis and discovery of new material.
- Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Film on Demand is a digital video streaming service providing access to educational videos from producers like A&E, PBS, National Geographic, and more. The Master Academic Collection includes videos across various fields of study, including health, humanities, science, business, and archival films.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, etc.
- UA Video Database - ArabicLink to a database of films in the University of Alabama Libraries DVD video collection. Set to films in Arabic.
- wwitv.com - Egyptian TelevisionAn aggregate website, which links to various Arabic-language television channels, advertised as being what is being broadcast live. Under "Countries" (upper left), you can also watch television from other Arabic-speaking countries.
Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.
- Access World News-Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspective on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.
Arabic-Language Newspapers
- UA Institutional RepositoryThe Institutional Repository (IR) is a platform for collecting, preserving, and distributing the scholarly, research, and creative works produced by The University of Alabama community. It supports and supplements academic publishing and scholarly communication via a searchable, open access, web-based publishing platform for scholarly articles, presentations, creative works, theses and dissertations, and more.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, featuring current research from the University of Alabama with citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses. Full text can be downloaded by authorized University of Alabama users.
- EThOS (E-Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
Indexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.