What is Judaism?
According to Britannica, "Judaism is characterized by a belief in one transcendent God who revealed himself to Abraham, Moses, and the Hebrew prophets and by a religious life in accordance with Scriptures and rabbinic traditions. Judaism is the complex phenomenon of a total way of life for the Jewish people, comprising theology, law, and innumerable cultural traditions."
Judaism | Definition, Origin, History, Beliefs, & Facts | Britannica. 29 Feb. 2024, https://www.britannica.com/topic/Judaism.
For each denomination of Judaism, there are different tabs for each, highlighting on resources that will assist you in your research.
These Databases, Books, and Links will be useful for all facets of this course.
Databases
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials represents all major religious faiths, denominations and language groups.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Books
-
Encyclopaedia Judaica
by
Publication Date: 2006-12-01Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. -
An Introduction to Judaism
by
Publication Date: 2000-02-17Beginning with the question 'who is a Jew?', this book offers a lucid account of Judaism and the Jewish people. Written for Jews and non-Jews alike, be they students, teachers, or general interested readers, the book brings out the extraordinary richness and variety of Judaism: its historical depth, and the vigour and at times amazing endurance of its traditions - in the home, in the synagogue, in its literature, in individual and community life. -
An Introduction to Judaism
by
Publication Date: 1992-02-01Judaism is an ancient religion, practiced through most of recorded history and having profound influence on both Christianity and Islam. It is a modern religion, too, still transforming the lives of many people. In this book, Jacob Neusner brings together these two aspects of the study of Judaism. He describes how Judaism is practiced in a particular time and place--America today--and surveys how Judaism took shape as people responded to political and religious crises. -
Judaism
by
Publication Date: 1996-01-01Norman Solomon's succinct book is an ideal introduction to Judaism as a religion and way of life. In addition to surveying the nature and development of Judaism, this Very Short Introduction outlines the basics of practical Judaism -- its festivals, prayers, customs, and various sects. -
Judaism
by
Publication Date: 2010-11-25The story of Judaism is a story of paradox. It is the story of how a small cluster of desert tribes gave birth to a monotheistic doctrine that profoundly shaped the history of human civilization. It is the story of how that initially obscure desert doctrine came to be codified into the Hebrew Bible, one of the world's greatest works of literature. It is the story of how a small minority came to be viewed by the majority as disproportionately powerful and, following pogrom and Holocaust, were driven to the edge of extinction. And it is the story of how a displaced people, globally dispersed throughout other nations for two-and-a-half millennia, came to forge a modern, secular Israeli state which many Jews believe to have been granted an explicitly divine mandate. Oliver Leaman carefully and creatively explores the nature of these apparent contradictions. -
Judaism
by
Publication Date: 1997-12-01This text explains the Jewish tradition as it is practised today. It provides an account of all aspects of the faith, from worship and festivals, through childhood, every day life and death, to the state of Israel and the relationship between Judaism and other religions. -
Judaism
by
Publication Date: 2003-06-24This is a work about the religion of Judaism, not about the Jews and their history. The author rejects the traditional Sinai to Golders Green approach, and instead begins by showing how Judaism is seen today in the world around us: how it is practiced, and its principal organizations. Later in the book Neusner tackles the formative history of Judaism we see how the contemporary religion has taken shape. -
Judaism in America
by
Publication Date: 2003-07-02Emphasizing developments in American Judaism in the last quarter century among active participants in Jewish worship, this book provides both a look back into the 350-year history of Judaic life and a well-crafted portrait of a multifaceted tradition today. Combining extensive research into synagogue archival records and secondary sources as well as interviews and observations of worship services at more than a hundred Jewish congregations across the country, Raphael's study distinguishes itself as both a history of the Judaic tradition and a witness to the vitality and variety of contemporary American Judaic life. -
A Short History of Judaism and the Jewish People
by
Publication Date: 2023-12-14Steven Leonard Jacobs critically yet concisely examines the history of Judaism and the Jewish people, drawing from maps, photographs and archives to illuminate the history of one of the world's oldest religions.
Helpful Links
-
Chabad.orgOverview of beliefs, holidays, culture, and other aspects of Judaism.
-
History.comJudaism Beliefs
-
Pew Research CenterJewish Identity and Beliefs