What is Philosophy?
According to Britannica, "Philosophy, (from Greek, by way of Latin, philosophia, “love of wisdom”) the rational, abstract, and methodical consideration of reality as a whole or of fundamental dimensions of human existence and experience. Philosophical inquiry is a central element in the intellectual history of many civilizations."
Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "philosophy". Encyclopedia Britannica, 15 Sep. 2024, https://www.britannica.com/topic/philosophy. Accessed 1 November 2024.
Databases
I have created a list of five databases that will assist you in finding sources for your research. To view a complete list of databases, please visit A-Z Databases linked below.
-
A-Z DatabasesThrough the A-Z Database page, you can filter databases by title, keyword, subject, and database type.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
-
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a directory of online academic philosophy, and serves as a citation index, structured bibliography, open access gateway, and open access archive for research in all areas of philosophy. Also included are job and events listings and moderated discussion forums. Search by author, title, or keyword, or use the “Browse” menu to view.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Encyclopedia
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyStanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a reference source covering philosophy related topics. This resource has been created by nearly 200 subject experts. You can access this resource through the UA Library Catalog and through Scout.